Awards for high achieving students

Award winning students Will Powell (left) and Will Moule

Article from the Shuttle News

Scores of high achieving students from The Stourport High School and VIth Form College have been recognised at their annual awards evening.

With Covid-19 restrictions in place, the citations and speeches had to be recorded and presented in a video on the school’s website.

Student of the Year awards went to Maddy Speller-Parkin (year 10), Kian Parry (year 11), Will Powell (year 12) and Bella Grove (year 13).

Top Student Progress awards were received by Max Guarini (year 10), Lewis Whetton (year 11), Will Moule (year 12) and Shauna Schmeissing (year 13).

The Reg Knott Award for Performing Arts was presented to Matthew Burford, and the Ogden Trust Award for Physics went to Dylan Patel.

Jasmine Edge received the first Excellence in History award in memory of John Roy Hayes and dozens of students from year 10 to 13 picked up faculty awards for endeavour and achievement.

The videoed event also featured musical interludes by students Isobel Symonds, Gabby Evans and Poppy Bowman, with congratulations from chairman of governors Julie Holmes and special guest solicitor Marcus Hayes, MBE, a past student who is spearheading a number of projects including developing links with the school’s alumni.

Principal Jon Sheers said: “The decisions around prize winners are always difficult as there are often many worthy candidates. This makes the achievements of these prize winners even more special as the standard in all categories was high and the competition tough.”

Mrs Holmes told the students: “This year has been a year like no other and I want to thank you all for the resilience and determination you have shown when facing exceptionally challenging times. You are all truly inspirational young people.”